Asia Cup Women’s Emerging Teams 2023, Hong Kong

by | 20 Jul, 2023 | Sports

At the Mission Round Ground in Hong Kong on Wednesday, India A defeated Bangladesh A by 31 runs to win the inaugural Women’s Asia Cup.


  • India A won the championship match against Bangladesh A by 31 runs.
  • The four wickets were taken by Shreyanka Patil
  • Bangladesh was dismissed for 96 by Indian bowling in 19.2 overs.

Match Key points

India A won the inaugural Women’s Emerging Asia Cup under the guidance of Shweta Sehrawat. On June 21, at the Mission Round Ground in Mong Kok, Hong Kong, they won the tournament by 31 runs over Lata Mondal’s Bangladesh A team.

India A scored 127 in 20 overs after being given the opportunity to bat first, losing seven wickets in the process. Prior to Nahida Akter and Rabeya Khan taking their wickets, respectively, captain Sehrawat and Uma Chetry scored 13 and 20 runs.

Dilara Akter was the first wicket Bangladesh lost, and they continued to lose wickets. Rain briefly stopped play as their total—66 for six in 13 overs—was being recorded.

India A prevented their opponents from regaining momentum in the contest after play resumed. In 19.2 overs, India A bowled the Tigresses out for 96 runs. Shreyanka Patil concluded with statistics of 4-0-13-4 although not being able to get off to a good start with the bat. She finished the competition with nine wickets, which made her the tournament’s top wicket-taker.

As she took three wickets for 20 runs, Mannat Kashyap bowled with consistency. In addition, Kanika Ahuja claimed two victims.

It was a complete spin show for the Indians, with spinner Patil and slow left-arm orthodox Kashyap dominating the slow Mission Road Ground. Sobhana Mostary and Nahida Akter scored 16 runs each while Nahida Akter was caught in the 17th over not out for Bangladesh. 

Earlier, Dinesh Vrinda (29 off 36 balls) was India’s top scorer while Kanika Ahuja remained unbeaten on 30 off 23 balls.

It was a struggle for the Indian batsmen as only four of them managed double figures and the Bangladeshi bowlers struck at regular intervals, preventing India from building any meaningful partnerships. 

Besides Vrinda and Ahuja, wicketkeeper U Chetry (22) and skipper Shweta Sehrawat (13) were the other two Indian batsmen to reach double figures. For Bangladesh, slow left-arm orthodox bowler Nahida Akter (2/13) and spinner Sultana Khatun (2/30) picked up two wickets each. 

India qualified for the final after their semi-final against Sri Lanka went goalless on Tuesday. In a strange turn of events, India played just one match before the final, the opener against hosts Hong Kong, which they won by nine runs.

India’s other three matches, counting the elimination round against Sri Lanka, were washed out without a ball being bowled.

In reality, rain played spoilsport all through the competition, constraining as numerous as eight diversions to be washed out.


Submit a Comment